Saturday, June 4, 2011

India Won the Match by 16 runs, India Beat West Indies T20 2011

PORT OF SPAIN (Trinidad): Putting up a splendid all round show, India scored a comfortable 16-run victory over the West Indies in the one-off Twenty20 International to begin their Caribbean tour on a resounding note on Saturday.


It is India's first win over the West Indies in T20 format as they had lost the previous two encounters at Lord's and Kensington Oval.

After being invited to bat on a tricky Sabina Park Oval strip India recovered from a top-order collapse to post a competitive 159 for six and then restricted the hosts to 143 for five.

Host skipper Darren Sammy had asked second-string India to bat under helpful conditions for the pacers and he himself did all the damage with four wickets as the visiting batsmen struggled to adjust to the bounce of the pitch.

India owed their recovery to top-scorer S Badrinath (43) and Rohit Sharma (26) as they combined for a 71-run stand for the fifth wicket after the visitors were reeling at 56 for four inside nine overs.

Yusuf Pathan (15 not out off 6) and Harbhajan Singh (15 not out off 7) hit some lusty shots towards the end to help India cross the 150-run mark.

Indian bowlers then complimented the good batting effort from the middle-order with a disciplined performance.

Harbhajan Singh (2-25) took two wickets while Praveen Kumar (1-27), R Ashwin (1-30) and Munaf Patel (1-35) contributed in the win with a wicket apiece.

For the West Indies, Darren Bravo hit a-run-a-ball 41 and Christopher Barnwell sparkled with a 16-ball unbeaten 34 but that only reduced the defeat margin for the hosts.


India: Suresh Raina (captain), Harbhajan Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Christopher Barnwell, Devendra Bishoo, Darren Bravo, Andre Fletcher (wk), Danza Hyatt, Ashley Nurse, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons

Umpires: Norman Malcolm (WIS), Peter Nero (WIS)
TV umpire: Joel Wilson (WIS)
Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)
Reserve umpire: Gregory Brathwaite (WIS)

TAGS: india vs west match match result 2011, india won by 16 runs, india vs west indies match score card, IND vs WI match scores, india win by 16 runs, india victory against west indies in T20, india vs westindies live telecast, india west live matches, india west indies scores

No comments:

Post a Comment